Thanks for the Trouble by Tommy Wallach


25532845

Synopsis:

“I’ve got some questions for you. Was this story written about me?”

I shrugged.

“Yes or no?”

I shrugged again, finally earning a little scowl, which somehow made the girl even more pretty. It brought a bloom to her pale cheeks and made sharp shelves of her cheekbones.

“It’s very rude not to answer simple questions,” she said.

I gestured for my journal, but she still wouldn’t give it to me. So I took out my pen and wrote I can’t on my palm.

Then, in tiny letters below it, I finished the thought: Now don’t you feel like a jerk?

Parker Santé hasn’t spoken a word in five years. While his classmates plan for bright futures, he skips school to hang out in hotels, killing time by watching the guests. But when he meets a silver-haired girl named Zelda Toth, a girl who claims to be quite a bit older than she looks, he’ll discover there just might be a few things left worth living for.

Review: 
A very long time ago I read We all Looked Up and I loved it, in fact I think that the review for it is buried in the archives of this long forgotten blog. When I saw this at my library I was shocked that I hadn’t even known that Mr. Wallach had written another back.
This book was so interesting and the first book I’ve read in many many months. The premise is very interesting and really intrigued me. Zelda and Parker were great characters. They both had a lot of depth and unresolved issues. I mean we readers all know that when people have deep unresolved issues it makes them better characters.
The writing was darkly satirical and humorous whilst still evoking a heck ton of emotion which is an A* for Mr. Tommy Wallach. I enjoyed watching the story s it evolved and both of the characters fell more and more in love.
The only bad point was that I felt it took too long to get to the end even though I didn’t want it to end. I felt that the problem which the whole story was about wasn’t coming fast enough. This book is really just a fairy tale and I guess that’s why everything seemed to beautifully finished but I really wanted a cliffhanger.
I give this beauty of a book 4/5 stars and highly recommend you  read it!
Thanks for stopping by!
Tell me what you think!

