How Not to Disappear by Clare Furniss


image

Synopsis:

Hattie’s summer isn’t going as planned. Her two best friends have abandoned her: Reuben has run off to Europe to “find himself” and Kat’s in Edinburgh. Meanwhile Hattie is stuck babysitting her twin siblings and dealing with endless drama around her mum’s wedding.

Oh, and she’s also just discovered that she’s pregnant with Reuben’s baby…

Then Gloria, Hattie’s great-aunt who no one previously knew even existed comes crashing into her life. Gloria’s fiercely independent, rather too fond of a gin sling and is in the early stages of dementia.

Together the two of them set out on a road trip of self-discovery – Gloria to finally confront the secrets of her past before they are wiped from her memory forever and Hattie to face the hard choices that will determine her future.

Review:

This book will be the end of me, it was amazing! I feel rather guilty now having had The Year of the Rat on my shelf for almost a year now. I must get onto reading that right away. You know after I’m finished all three season of Sherlock that I’ve just started. Moriarty is my favourite character. Bad, I know.

I loved all the characters, except Reuben obviously. Hattie and Gloria’s stories were really great and engaging, especially when they were intertwined. Furniss convincingly made the characters relatable, and made me laugh at so many sad moments. The story had very good motifs, stringing the themes of feminism, family, love and self-exploration.

Both stories were both well detailed for the eras they were set in. Which is always a bonus. Historical errors sometimes bring the story down. Well done for not letting that happen. Not the much could ruin this book anyway.

The story carries great messages, has great characters, was brilliantly written and was heart wrenching to read. I recommend you all pick this book up when it comes out in January.

I give this book 5/5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Thanks for reading,and don’t forget to leave a comment.
(P.S Whose your favourite Sherlock character?)

4 thoughts on “How Not to Disappear by Clare Furniss

Tell me what you think!

