One by Sarah Crossan


image

Round 2 of conquering my pile!

How did I get this? It was sent to me for review from Bloomsbury. Thank you, you lovely people ☺

Synopsis:

Grace and Tippi are twins – conjoined twins. And their lives are about to change. No longer able to afford homeschooling, they must venture into the world – a world of stares, sneers and cruelty. Will they find more than that at school? Can they find real friends? And what about love? But what neither Grace or Tippi realises is that a heart-wrenching decision lies ahead. A decision that could tear them apart. One that will change their lives even more than they ever imagined…From Carnegie Medal shortlisted author Sarah Crossan, this moving and beautifully crafted novel about identity, sisterhood and love ultimately asks one question: what does it mean to want and have a soulmate?

Review:

I loved this! I loved it, I loved it, I loved it ❤ This was one of the most emotionally challenging books I’ve ever read. I was so gobsmacked that when I put it down I couldn’t formulate any thoughts, at all. This book was so beautiful, I’m gushing with fangirl feelings and I can’t stop, sorry.

The Characters:
Never have I read to books with such diverse characters. You have Tippi, a rebel wanting to do everything she’s advised against, smoke and drink, be reckless. Grace is more level headed and emotional. Always trying to be sensible and wanting desperately to be in love. Dragon their sister is void of emotion and is seriously ruining her health with anorexia. Their father is an angry alcoholic and their mother is sheltered and lonely. They were all so beautifully diverse.
5/5 stars for characters.

The story:

It was so sad and haunting to see how the people around Tippi and Grace treated them. I’ve watched a couple of documentaries on conjoined twins and always felt so sorry for them. This book was full of twist and turns and it kept me hooked. I also love the it was written in free verse, it was the first free verse novel that I’ve read but I really enjoyed it. I look forward to reading more books by Sarah Crossan.

My fave quote:

Here we are.
And we are living.
Isn’t that amazing?
How we manage to be at all.

I give it five out of five stars and beg you to read it so that we can fangirl about it together. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

3 thoughts on “One by Sarah Crossan

  1. I have been so excited for this book. I have never heard of something like it being published in YA literature. I’m glad to hear is as complex and emotionally charged as I’ve been anticipating. However, until you mentioned it I didn’t know that it was in verse, which is usually a big turn off for me in books but who knows One may be the books that changes my opinion on free verse novels. I can’t wait to read it! Great review :)!!

Tell me what you think!

