I Was Here by Gayle Forman


23507628

Hello again. Here’s another review for you and I hope you enjoy it.

How did I get it? It was sent to me from Simon and Schuster, so once again thanks.

Synopsis:

Cody and Meg were inseparable.
Two peas in a pod.
Until . . . they weren’t anymore.

When her best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg shared everything—so how was there no warning? But when Cody travels to Meg’s college town to pack up the belongings left behind, she discovers that there’s a lot that Meg never told her. About her old roommates, the sort of people Cody never would have met in her dead-end small town in Washington. About Ben McAllister, the boy with a guitar and a sneer, who broke Meg’s heart. And about an encrypted computer file that Cody can’t open—until she does, and suddenly everything Cody thought she knew about her best friend’s death gets thrown into question.

Review:

When I was asked to review this, I jumped at it. I mean, Gayle Forman, she wrote If I Stay which I loved (you can see the review here) I was intrigued by the synopsis and I thought well hey, why not? Right? Well I didn’t love it as much as If I Stay or Where she Went yet something hooked me and I loved it nonetheless.

Now, if you would like to read this beware of triggers. If you can’t handle anything that deals with suicide or self-harm please, I advise you against reading this book. However she deals with these topics safely not going in to deep in the subject yet not glossing over it in a protective way. She writes in an effortless way which makes it an easy read, her writing is humored and tactfully, bringing moments when you want to cry and moments when you can’t stop laughing. Yet the storyline has been done before and I couldn’t help but predict what might happen. However i wanted to know the ending and plus, the books only 280 pages anyway.

Cody was quite a slow character, she wasn’t any type of pace, not slow not fast but inexplicably nothing. It’s all the other characters that I liked. They all brought a different element to the story and pulled it all together.

I didn’t like the romance, the whole “bad-boy-gone-good” cliche was boring and they had no believable chemistry. Which makes me think that if this book was to continue that they would never last and that always disappoints me.

My Fave Quotes:

“Anything that kills hope is a sin”

Sometimes we meet people and are so symbiotic with them, it’s as if we are one person, with one mind, one destiny”

So overall I give it a 4/5 stars and do recommend you read it. Have you read this? What did you think? Tell me in the comments below.


One thought on “I Was Here by Gayle Forman

  1. Pingback: My Week in a Wrapped #29 | EverythingNyze

Tell me what you think!

