Every Day (Every Day #1) by David Levithan


17451795

How did I get it: It was a present!

Synopsis:

Each morning, A wakes up in a different body. There’s never any warning about who it will be, but A is used to that. Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere. And that’s fine – until A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply.

Review:

What!?! It ended! I thought we weren’t even at the end and it just stopped… What is this madness? And it ended on a cliffhanger. That’s not fair. I was totally unprepared for that ending.

Wow, that was an emotional roller coaster ride. I’m a big fan of Quantum Leap (anyone seen it?) I felt like this was similar to it in some ways so I really enjoyed this novel, it was right up my alley. The story was written superbly and I loved it so much. It also explored a lot of issues, bullying, suicide, relationships, abusive relationships and eating disorders. The writing was very lyrical and had a great sense of rhythmic flow.

I loved A, he was just so real, that sounds a bit weird as he is an actual person in the story but his emotions are normal if not a little bit greater than everyone else’s. I loved when he was in a body of a girl who was going to kill herself and he helped her by talking to her dad whom she never talked to, and her dad getting her help at a medical center. A wanted to help everyone but didn’t want to get to mixed up in their lives as he’s only ever there for a day. That was until he met Rhiannon and he became obsessed with her.

Why become obsessed? Why go out of your way every day to see her and risk the consequences of everyone’s lives? I didn’t like Rhiannon, she was great as a person but when it came to loving A, she couldn’t do it. She couldn’t love the fact that he was a different person every time. She couldn’t love him underneath, even when he tried to explain it. If the A was Fat she couldn’t function properly, if he was a girl, then the same would happen. You should be able to love someone no matter what, if someone was in an accident and it ruined how they looked would you stop loving them? No, because it’s still the same person underneath.

My fave quotes:

“I wake up thinking of yesterday. The joy is in remembering; the pain is in knowing it was yesterday.”

“If there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s this: We all want everything to be okay. We don’t even wish so much for fantastic or marvelous or outstanding. We will happily settle for okay, because most of the time, okay is enough.”

This book was almost amazing but I’d really recommend it especially if it’s collecting dust on your TBR shelf! I give this book 4.75/5 Stars.

2 thoughts on “Every Day (Every Day #1) by David Levithan

Tell me what you think!

