Looking for JJ (Finding Jennifer Jones #1) by Anne Cassidy


19301206

Yoohoo! I’m back again, sorry for being so absent, I went on holiday and no, the cabins didn’t provide WiFi.

How did I get this: It was sent to me from Scholastic to review out of their catalogue, so thank you!

Synopsis:

Three children walked away from the cottages on the edge of town toward Berwick Waters. Later that day, only two of them came back. . . .    Alice Tully knows exactly what happened that spring day six years ago, though it’s still hard for her to believe it. She’ll never be able to forget, even though she’s trying to lead a normal life–she has a job, friends, and a boyfriend whom she adores. But Alice’s past is dangerous, and violent, and sad . . . and it’s about to rip her new life apart.

Review:

I remember this taking me a while to get through yet it was so gripping. I think it was because I’d bought a load of books I was really excited about.

This book explores some very big issues along the line of neglectful parents, bullying and child murder, naturally this makes the book difficult to read. However it is dealt with in such a way that it never goes to far into it and just simmers beneath the surface. Most of the scenes that include these themes are very short because of the time changes in the book.

Alice is a very wrecked character and it took me a while to figure out what had happened and that came as a plot twist for me because I didn’t see it coming. She has a boyfriend, she has some friends but she doesn’t have answers, so Alice becomes critical and lonely, and pessimistic. However she is humble and kind despite what happened to her, although wary of new people who come into her life. Alice is also very brutal in the way she describes her life events, so much so that I think sometimes she may have exaggerated them a bit.

The story is written well despite the time changes of past and present, (Yet never future.). This sometimes confused me as you couldn’t tell when she was thinking or if she was recalling something. It is a very real book, it doesn’t glaze over the story with unnecessary description, no, and the tress glimmered in the sunlight whilst I watched the blood make a pool on the ground. Nope, none of that, it is written honestly so we can feel the harsh truth of it’s events.

My fave quote:

“Why was everyone so interested in her now? When it was too late to change anything? What was the point?”

Overall I really enjoyed the story and thought it was gripping. I’d recommend it if you like murders or mysteries or even YA. I give this book 4/5 Stars ****/*****

Tell me what you think!

