Conspiracy Girl by Sarah Alderson


image

Hey!! I cannot wait to tell you all about this book.

Thanks to Simon and Schuster for sending this to me, it was great. And your delivery is so fast, they told me they would send it that day and it can the next, either you have a great postal service or your very efficient, or both!

Synopsis:

Everybody knows about the Cooper Killings – the Bel Air home invasion that rocked the nation.
There was only one survivor – a sixteen year-old girl.
And though the killers were caught they walked free.

Now eighteen, Nic Preston – the girl who survived – is trying hard to rebuild her life. She’s security conscious to the point of paranoia and her only friend is a French Mastiff bulldog, but she’s making progress. She’s started college in New York and has even begun dating.

But then one night her apartment is broken into and the life Nic’s worked so hard to create is shattered in an instant.

Finn Carter – hacker, rule breaker, player – is the last person Nic ever wants to see again. He’s the reason her mother’s killers walked free from court. But as the people hunting her close in, Nic has to accept that her best and possibly only chance of staying alive is by keeping close to Finn and learning to trust the person she’s sworn to hate.

Fleeing across a snowbound New England, frantically trying to uncover the motive behind the murders, Nic and Finn come to realize the conspiracy is bigger than they could ever have suspected. But the closer they get to the truth and the closer they get to each other, the greater the danger becomes.

To survive she has to stay close to him.
To keep her safe he has to keep his distance.

Review:

I’m a major mystery/murder fan, my favourite TV shows run along the same lines, I watch Castle, The Closer, The Glades and Without a Trace. So this was right up my alley (yes, the creepy dark one where all the murders happen :)) and I was so excited to read it.

I was not disappointed, it was a fast paced thriller, a page turner. I was hooked from the first chapter, thinking, “This cannot get any better.” It was the right read at the right time. The writing flowed and was very tense and on-your-seat the whole time. I definitely enjoyed the twists and turns, which kept me hooked also because chapters almost always ended in a cliffhanger, which is unfair when your tired.

The characters were great as individuals. Finn is a kick-ass, 22 year old FBI agent and professional hacker who lives in an apartment and works in a cube, literally. Nic is also kick-ass but has severe OCD and doesn’t like people touching her, but she’s sassy and I think if you have a sharp tongue it can hurt more than weapons, so she beats in that department.

The characters were great as individuals, but they sucked together. I think the romance wasn’t the best thing ever written and it didn’t mesh together. It seemed very awkward and unsteady. It was “Do I like her, do I not? Am I allowed to like her?” And you just wanted to scream. However the romance wasn’t a big aspect so it didn’t affect the book that much.

I liked the ending, everything felt resolved, no open cliffhangers or unanswered questions. I hope this is a standalone, is it a standalone?

My fave quote:

“In his arms I’ve finally found the place I’ve been looking for, where fear can’t touch me, where memories can’t reach, where the past is forgotten and the present is enough. Where the present is, in fact, all that matters.”   

I really liked this book but I think the romance was not great so I’ll rate this 4/5 stars and recommend it.
⭐⭐⭐⭐/⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

2 thoughts on “Conspiracy Girl by Sarah Alderson

  1. Aww, the new theme looks awesome ❤ Loving it! Did you update it a while ago ro am I just terrible at keeping up with blogs? 😛 Anyways, it's the best.

    The books sounds good. It's been on my TBR for a while so maybe I should just give it a try.

Tell me what you think!

