If I Stay by Gayle Forman


image

Wahey! Round 3… Ding Ding Ding!

How did I get this book? I got it from the Library where it was misplaced, in the adult section. It’s definitely YA,  ask Google (he knows everything.)

Synopsis:

Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.

I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.

Stay, he says.

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

Review:
I loved, loved, loved this book. Adam, Mia, the Cello, her parents, everything, almost.

The writing was beautiful, lyrical and it flowed. The story was original and believable. I loved the flashbacks in relation to the plot and what was happening because they all slotted together nicely and they had some relevance to what she was thinking about. It felt nice to have a break from reading about what was going on in the hospital because it felt tedious.

I adored the musical elements. I loved the way Adam talked about Mia when she played and how her Grandpa talked about her being just like her Dad. She talked about it so majestically (cello, that is.) That I looked up Yo Yo Ma after finishing the book and am now hooked and want to play Cello.

The characters are really quite something. Mia although her narrative seems cynical and dull, it feels like me in some sense. She’s very sensible and reserved, qualities of which I aspire to. Adam was awesome, just plain flippin’ awesome. He plays guitar *please add correct level of swoon* and he loves her, so much. Her parents are weird, I don’t think they expected her to be such a level headed child, so they encourage her to have a bit more fun. They tell her to break her curfew if she wants as long as she’s still back at a reasonable hour, they also tempt her to come along with them by bribing her and telling her its what a normal teenager would do. Weird but awesome.

I like that it was sad, I think it was waaaayyy sadder than The Fault In Our Stars. The part with her Grandpa in the ICU had me gasping for air in between rolling in my own tears.

I didn’t like Adam and Mia’s relationship, it felt very unsteady and unreliable. He being a popular musician and leaving her for weeks at a time and to only see pictures of him on social media partying with scantily dressed girls. I’m guessing this has to be in some cases normal but it did make feel very uncomfortable and sad for Mia. I think being able to rely on someone is a foundation in a relationship. But Hey! *throws hands up in the air* What do I know?

My fave quote:

“And that’s just it, isn’t it? That’s how we manage to survive the loss. Because love, it never dies, it never goes away, it never fades, so long as you hang on to it.”

Overall, it was a fairly short but beautiful book. It’ll make you cry, laugh and everything in between.
I rate this 4.5/5 Stars.
⭐⭐⭐⭐½/⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

5 thoughts on “If I Stay by Gayle Forman

  1. Oh yes I LOVED that book!! And I thought the movie did not do it justice, except for maybe the Grandpa part. That had me bawling like a baby. And when I watched the movie, I was on an airplane so holding back the tears was a struggle.

  2. Pingback: I Was Here by Gayle Forman |

Tell me what you think!

