Love, Tanya by Tanya Burr


SAM_0665~3

Hello, Nerds. I’m sorry I’ve been very non-existent the past three weeks, I was on a blogging hiatus. That doesn’t mean I didn’t read though! So here comes a load of reviews for everything I’ve read because I’m trying to get better at reviewing every book I read. Hold on.

Thanks to Penguin for sending this to me, it’s always nice to receive new books and I always thank people who’ve had a part in getting books to me.

Synopsis:

Hi everyone and welcome to my book! It’s really close to my heart because it’s inspired by my journey to becoming confident and feeling happy about who I am. I wanted to write the book to share the things I’ve learnt with you – to reveal my top tips on fashion, beauty, love, friendship and YouTube… and loads more! Plus there is room for you to list your own hopes and dreams alongside mine – so get creative and get involved! I’d love it if this book became a keepsake you can treasure for years to come and learn to love yourself along the way – like I have. I hope you enjoy it!

Love,

Tanya xx

Review:

Love, Tanya is an interesting part fashion (among other things.) and lifestyle manual with some personal diary type entries from the go to beauty and life Youtuber, Tanya Burr.

It has beautiful picture tutorials, delicious looking recipes (which I will try, especially the Avocado brownies!) and helpful advice on somewhat delicate topics such as love, friendships and anxiety/ panic attacks. However she handles these topics gracefully and never forces her ideals on you, only suggests ways to help which is great in a lifestyle book. Along with stunning photo shoots, cute typography and write your own tidbits.

Youtubers and book deals?

These books pose questions to readers, questions that are making them erupt into full blown madness. They want to know why Youtubers are getting book deals and other amazing writers aren’t. This only erupted after it was found out that Zoella (Zoe Sugg) the Youtube sensation received a book deal but the book was ghostwritten by Siobhan Curham, and that it rose to the quickest selling book since Harry Potter. So what’s my view?

I personally am against it. I don’t see the relevance for unnecessary books from Youtubers, I loved Love, Tanya but Zoella’s book didn’t need to be produced. It scares me that we produce things that won’t make a difference while other books can.

Anyway (sorry for my mini-rant) it’s a lovely hardback with a gorgeous cover an glossy pages, Love, Tanya is a dainty addition to my bookshelf.

4/5 Stars

Thanks for reading!

7 thoughts on “Love, Tanya by Tanya Burr

  1. I agree with you regarding the influx of YouTuber books. I picked up Girl Online in a bookstore the other day and flipped through it out of curiosity. I didn’t buy, nor will I, but that’s mostly because I don’t read a lot of YA books.

    My bias is partly due to jealousy. I’m trying to get published, so yeah – it’s insulting that famous people don’t have to worry about whether or not their writing is good enough or even passable. They have ghostwriters to fill the gaps and publishing houses who will market the books effectively.

    Love, Tanya seems like a charming book that reflects the YouTuber in an authentic way, but who’s to say she wrote all the content? I suppose it doesn’t really matter. Fans will buy these books because it makes them feel closer to their YouTube people, even if the books are total garbage.

    • I agree with you as well. I didn’t know you were trying to get published! What type of book is it? It is a very nice non-fiction book and if that’s something you want to read I suggest you pick up Love, Tanya.

  2. I borrowed Girl Online from the library, and didn’t really like it regardless of who wrote it. The romance-crush-drama didn’t really work with me, I guess.

    It was nice to read your review, though – I didn’t actually know Tanya Burr was publishing a book!

  3. I enjoy Tanya Burr on YouTube, and the same goes for Zoella. I feel like they’re given book deals because it’s a given that the books will sell, but it kind of defeats the purpose of their YouTube-Ness to write books. I do think I would enjoy Love, Tanya though regardless!

  4. Okay. Tanya is amazing and stuff but honestly did she really need to write a book? I know she is a famous youtuber but she hasn’t done sth so remarkable to read her bio. She is a typical girl who happened to be famous because of youtube.
    This thing, of youtubers publishing books for no reason, it’s starting to annoy me. I don’t know, it’s my opinion and I’m sorry for being too judgemental.

Tell me what you think!

