It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini


Hey Nerds! Yes, I know it’s been ages since I’ve actually done a review, let’s have a look… The last one was on the 1/12/2014. 21 Days ago, and I’m still behind on about 20 book reviews, I’m drowning in book reviews. I read this one on my tablet, from the library at the recommendation of Caught Read Handed, many thanks to her, and loved it. Absolutely loved it.

248704

Synopsis:

Craig Gilner is an ambitious New York City teenager who seeks entry into the Manhattan Executive Pre-Professional High School because he believes getting into the right high school will start him on the path to a successful life. However, once Craig aces his way into the school, the pressure builds up, so much so that he stops eating, sleeping, and doing his school work. One night it all gets to be too much and he nearly kills himself.

Craig’s experience gets him checked into a local mental hospital, where he meets an array of fellow patients from many different backgrounds, including “a girl who has scarred her own face with scissors, and the self-elected President Armelio”. At Six North, Craig is finally able to find the sources of his anxiety and confront them.

Review:

Wow, I don’t think I can fathom up and coherent thoughts, so perhaps I’ll just make a checklist of things I didn’t like and the things I did (which is a great many…).

Things I did like:

  • The humor, the wit. I loved how even before he went into Six North he could still crack a lighthearted joke even on his bad days, I guess that is way to deal with how you feel at that moment.
  • The characters are real, authentic, believable. Their emotions are just authentic, raw, genuine. You would probably feel like you are reading a true account (which is true but I’ll explain that bit soon.).
  • The characters were great and diverse, I especially loved Ebony, Solomon, Muqtada, Johnny, Bobby. Well all of them were interesting and amazing but Craig definitely stood out above all.
  • Craig used his art as an expression to deal with his anxiety and depression. He created maps of people’s brains as if they were cities. Which makes me definitely want to try it.
  • That after coming out Craig wanted to volunteer to help people like Bobby who were trying to get help and accommodation.

Things I didn’t like:

  • His thinking that a girlfriend would help him overcome his depression, despite the counselor’s warnings.

Now:

Ned Vizzini was hospitalized for depression after trying to kill himself from 11/29/04 – 12/3/04. He wrote this from 12/10/04 – 1/6/05.

I’d like to acknowledge that on 12/19/13 he committed suicide after struggling with chronic depression. So a couple of days ago was he one year anniversary of his death. I send my love to his family.

My Fave Quote(s):

“Sometimes I just think depression’s one way of coping with the world. Like, some people get drunk, some people do drugs, some people get depressed. Because there’s so much stuff out there that you have to do something to deal with it.”

“Life can’t be cured, but it can be managed.”

“I wanted to tell people ‘My depression is acting up today’ As a reason for not talking or seeing people but I never managed to do it.”

Some Music:

For the full experience google riny mood, click on the first link and let it play together.

I rate this book four and a half stars.

Thanks for reading!

Tell me what you think!

