The Map to Everywhere by Carrie Ryan


20980662

Hey, everyone. Sorry I’ve been so absent, things really cropped up on me, I didn’t even get to do Wednesday Writes this week 😦

This was strange and I didn’t know if it was an error of my email or something but Indigo sent me two ARC copies of the same book in a matter of a couple of days, so now I have a really advanced copy and a finished product. But thanks anyway to Indigo and Gollanzcs.

Synopsis:

To Master Thief Fin, an orphan from the murky pirate world of the Khaznot Quay, the Map is the key to finding his mother. To suburban schoolgirl Marrill, it’s her only way home after getting stranded on the Pirate Stream, the magical waterway that connects every world in creation. They must scour the many worlds of the Pirate Stream to gather the pieces of the Map to Everywhere–but they aren’t the only ones looking. A sinister figure is hot on their tail, and if they can’t beat his ghostly ship to find the Map, it could mean the destruction of everything they hold dear!

Review:

This was especially what I needed after reading Peter Pan for the gazillionth time. Pirates, magic trees and everything! It did take me ages to finish though I was just trying to slug through it, chapter at a time.

It was full of action and adventure, and Finn and Marrill were great characters. Feisty and snappy Marill and cunning thief Finn. The world building was awesome, Carrie created such an intriguing world with sinister villains and oddball  and quirky characters. All the settings were wonderfully described and the words easily flowed and are especially easy as it is aimed at 9-12 year olds. The artwork was beautiful and I felt like I’d seen similar illustrations before somewhere else but I can’t think of it. The chapters are short and interesting enough to keep you hooked which is great if you want to read it out to little children.

My fave quote:

“Wait,’ Fin said, puzzling through the words. ‘That was a seed, not a secret.’

‘Of course it was.’ It sounded annoyed, at least for a tree. ‘Here, secrets turn to seed, good secrets take root, and the vines that grow bloom into rumors. They do that, you know,’ it said, as much to itself as to Fin. ‘Once planted, they grow. And start new rumors all their own.”

However it was very slow for me so I would only give it 3.5 stars and recommend it to 9-12 year olds or parents of those.

2 thoughts on “The Map to Everywhere by Carrie Ryan

  1. I have this as an ARC too, I have started it but not gotten very far, I am finding there wasn’t muhc introduction and finding things a little confusing. May need to start again and just sit and read it one day soon.

Tell me what you think!

