Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie


13610447

Hey, fellow BookNerds. How’s it going?

I wanted to start reading all the old children’s classics again. So I started with Peter Pan, which I’m completely infatuated with. Next will be either Mary Poppins, Tarzan or The Jungle Book. I’ve been searching for a copy of Peter Pan for about six months, so I recently found it hidden in a box of books at my favorite local bookshop. I sped through it.

Synopsis:

Peter Pan, the book based on J.M. Barrie’s famous play, is filled with unforgettable characters: Peter Pan, the boy who would not grow up; the fairy, Tinker Bell; the evil pirate, Captain Hook; and the three children–Wendy, John, and Michael–who fly off with Peter Pan to Neverland, where they meet Indians and pirates and a crocodile that ticks.

Review:

Be warned, this is not the sweet Disney tale you’ve always watched, this is the rather twisted fairy tale. This is the story of a cocky boy who never grows up, who apparently thins out the lost boys when they get to old. How twisted is that? This is the story of a pirate captain with no personality who really wants to kill a teenage boy so badly that he’ll kidnap all his friends and try to poison him, murdering his fairy in the process.

Peter was such an interesting character. Cocky, arrogant with his infectious smile, dressed in skeleton leaves. At first he is cocky but then he shows he is vulnerable, just a teenage boy who doesn’t have a mother. He forgets things and can’t remember Wendy’s name. He sacrifices himself for others, helping Wendy  to fly when he is drowning and can’t fly himself. I really like Peter, but then I always did.

Captain Hook was the most boring person ever. He had no personality, I’m pretty sure most of the remarks towards the redskins were racist and that he had a rather strong bromance with Smee. I hated his character.

I loved the storyline, fairies, pirates, mermaids and redskins. It’s the sort of fantasy story I love to read.

My fave quote:

“To die would be an awfully big adventure.”

“Never say goodbye because goodbye means going away and going away means forgetting.”

“When the first baby laughed for the first time, its laugh broke into a thousand pieces, and they all went skipping about, and that was the beginning of fairies.”

“The moment you doubt whether you can fly, you cease for ever to be able to do it.”

   

4 thoughts on “Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie

Tell me what you think!

