The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey (Minor Spoilers :))


Hi again everyone, I couldn’t think about not writing the review for this sequel so I decided to postpone my other posts for this one. So I hope you enjoy.

16131484

Synopsis:

How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.

Review:

Normally I’m all up for sequels, there normally the best books of a series for me, but this just didn’t come up to mark. I felt like it was the book that had nothing in it, that it was only a bridge to the third book, a waste of a good literary mind. There was no proper story, it was dragged on and on and on. Until finally it snapped and something happened, the start of a war.

The characters were still there but no advances in any kind of anyone’s relationship. Actually that might not be true, I think Cassie and Ben kissed once or twice, I’m pretty hazy on the book now. Ringer and Razor? If anyone can help answer this, is Razor the guy from Camp Ashpit that was trying to befriend Cassie? That was one weird friendship, “Hey you’re supposed to make sure I don’t die so they can perform experiments on me, let’s kiss, now!”

I think though, to my great sadness, that it will still probably end up Ben and Ringer and Cassie and Evan. If this does happen I think I will have to sue Rick Yancey for messing with my adolescent mind. He knows how much teenage girls ship their favorite characters, he knows they become lethal when they don’t get what they want.

The writing was still strong and descriptive, though lacking any sort of plot. Still something about this book made it absolutely impossible and it wasn’t the love triangle (square, octagonal thingy…). Well, Mr Rick Yancey, I would like an advanced copy of The 5th Wave #3 so that I can hold all your characters hostage and make them tell me what happens. When is the third one coming out!!! ASDFGHJKL!!!!

My fave quote:

“When you look death in the eye and death blinks first, nothing seems impossible.”

“It isn’t that the lies are too beautiful to resist. It’s that the truth is too hideous to face.”

“But I don’t panic. I don’t bolt like a frightened gazelle. I am more than the sum of my fear. It isn’t fear that will defeat them. Not fear or faith or hope or even love, but rage.”

I give this book 3.5 stars. It’s not the best book in the world but it will fill the void that the first one left me with, when I wanted more.

Bye AwesomeNerds 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey (Minor Spoilers :))

  1. We agree again! I think this book could have been skipped to make the series a duology rather than a trilogy. NOTHING HAPPENED other than pondering the problem of rats :/

Tell me what you think!

