The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey


Hola, everybody. I thought I’d read this book as I saw sooooo many people talking about the release of The Infinite Sea, which is The 5 Wave’s sequel, so I thought I’d see what the big deal is. Reader digression is advised, there are some spoilers, so if you have not read this book don’t read on (and by the way, you should be reading this book, so there’s no excuse.)

16101128

Synopsis:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Review:

Oh my goodness, this is one of my books of the year!!!! So explosive and intriguing. I love sci-fi so much…. I’m probably on a bit of a sci-fi high right now, considering I just finished The Infinite Sea as well.

It seemed a bit slow at first but it sped along nicely, gathering an amazing amount of speed in just a few chapters. I loved Cassie, she was just so kick-ass and amazing, but less so when she was with Evan, he weighed her awesomeness down. Cassie, you don’t need no man, just get back out there and be a cool, apocalyptic survivor (I’m not sure where that bit came from.)

At first I was a bit slow and didn’t realize that Zombie was actually Ben Parish, then it clicked and I felt downright stupid. I squealed when I looked up the casting for the movie and saw that Nick Robinson was playing Ben Parish (Google his gorgeous face now, that is a command.). I liked that at first he was Zombie, all dead like,no emotions and then BAM we see the bigger picture and we all want to hug him and be nice to him (well at least I did anyway.)

I also really liked Ringer, she just seemed so hardcore for an army girl, especially since the male soldiers are favored over the female ones. I was so torn as to whether I wanted her and Ben together or Ben and Cassie but I definitely didn’t want Evan and Cassie, Ugh No!

I liked how the author could write for both genders, it takes a lot to write a female and her thoughts, especially when you’re not one yourself . It also posed a lot of good female questions, like how will we find tampons in the midst of an apocalyptic war, this part really worried me, as I’ve been preparing for alien invasions for years now. That last sentence probably isn’t true but it’s still something to think about.

The book was really plot driven but the characters were amazing. I was waiting for all the main characters to die, this did not happen as in some other books I will not care to mention. (Ahem, The Hunger Games, yes, you sitting over there, tuck in your tail, little duck, *sob*). I loved the writing, one minute I could be almost in tears due to the sheer awesomeness and the next, laughing my head off at some witty one-liner.

What I did not like was the love triangle (square, octagonal thingy… I don’t know.) Ben and Ringer, Ben and Cassie, Ringer and Evan, Cassie and Evan. This confuzzled my brain too much, (Like my choice of words there, huh?) Who do you ship? I really like Ben and Cassie together, not many other people do.

Fave quote:

“But if I’m it, the last of my kind, the last page of human history, like hell I’m going to let the story end this way. I may be the last one, but I am the one still standing. I am the one turning to face the faceless hunter in the woods on an abandoned highway. I am the one not running but facing. Because if I am the last one, then I am humanity. And if this is humanity’s last war, then I am the battlefield.”

Who’s been cast?:

These are not the only people cast, if you want to check it out go to https://www.facebook.com/5thWaveMovie.

I give this book 6/5 stars, and recommend you put everything else down right now and go buy it, or get it from the library. You’ll love it, it’s that good that I had to give it 6/5 stars.

Stay Awesome 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Tell me what you think!

