Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson


Hello everyone, I’m trying to write as many reviews as I can this week because I’m struggling to keep afloat in them with my bad ankle. Swimming is surprisingly hard with torn ligaments. 😦

https://i2.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1327989202l/7664334.jpg

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

This book was so amazing, I raced through it and couldn’t put it down, I could not sleep until it was finished. I had never read any of Morgan Matson’s books, I just found it on an eBook website and I’d remembered seeing all the Booktubers rave about it, which I can now testify too. Something just clicked with me and this book and I fell head over heels in love with it.

Morgan’s writing was so beautiful and lyrical but the part I loved most about it was the pictures, the receipts, the playlists (which did make me want to go and listen to the songs listed there.). I also loved that it wasn’t an insta-love scenario, because I hate those, nobody falls immediately in love with someone as soon as they see them. The way books write these insta-love scenarios makes it cheesy and makes it sound like it happens everyday. I like that Amy and Roger got to know each other first and didn’t always get along. I love me some fights…

Question:

Why would you go on a road trip with someone you barely know?

This seems like any easy answer, you wouldn’t but why didn’t she think that. Somewhere along the road trip something must’ve crossed her mind that went a little something like this, “Maybe, he’s a serial killer or a psychopath? Why didn’t I think of that before I agreed to this cross-country road trip?” Maybe she was just not very bright.

My fave quote:

“Tomorrow will be better.”
“But what if it’s not?” I asked.
“Then you say it again tomorrow. Because it might be. You never know, right? At some point, tomorrow will be better.”

“Saying good-bye is basically an invitation not to see a person again. It’s making it okay for that to be the last conversation you have. So if you don’t say it–if you leave the conversation open–it means you’ll have to see them again.”
I give this book 5 stars, you should rush to pick this one up and read it. Thanks for reading!
2 thoughts on “Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Tell me what you think!

