The Island by Jen Minkman


Ello, again. Everybody. This is an EBook that I got a couple of weeks ago, it was free and it sounded interesting. Its also the first eBook I’ve really read.

I walk toward the sea. The endless surface of the water extends to the horizon, whichever way I look.

Our world is small. We are on our own, and we only have ourselves to depend on. We rely on the Force deep within us, as taught to us by our forefathers.

If I were to walk westward from here, I would come across a barrier – the Wall. Behind it, there are Fools. At least, that’s what everyone says.

I have never seen one.

Leia lives on the Island, a world in which children leave their parents to take care of themselves when they are ten years old. Across this Island runs a wall that no one has ever crossed. The Fools living behind it are not amenable to reason – they believe in illusions. That’s what The Book says, the only thing left to the Eastern Islanders by their ancestors.

But when a strange man washes ashore and Leia meets a Fool face to face, her life will never be the same. Is what she and her friends believe about the Island really true?

Or is everyone in their world, in fact, a Fool?

This was supposed to be a serious book. It wasn’t really, it was really stupid but impeccably written. How do you make a silly book beautifully written? Jen Minkman, knows. Please tell me the secret!!!

This was supposed to be about a world, divided, guided by the book. Which turns out to be a Star Wars fan fiction. You find that out really early in the novel. Its so funny.

My fave quote:

“I bet you think I’m an arrogant showoff.”
“Yes, I kind of do,” I admit frankly.
His face falls. “Oh.”
“Well, you’re being one.”

I give this book 3.5 stars because even though it was stupid it was really well written and interesting.

3 thoughts on “The Island by Jen Minkman

  1. Pingback: September Wrap up and October TBR | The Sleepy Book Nerd

Tell me what you think!

