Wonder by R.J Palacio


image

Hello again faithful BookNerds. It’s a new year metaphorically speaking as yesterday was my blog’s one year anniversary. This was one of the books on that 3 for £10 deal I was talking about in my review of Paper Towns by John Green. I was drawn by the beautiful yet simple cover, which was of course my favourite colour, blue… Which is weird because all those books I bought in that 3 for £10 deal were all different shades of blue. Interesting…

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

This book was simply beautiful, maybe because it handled heavy subjects so simply, child like perhaps. Bullying. I detest it. I detesto (Spanish, obviously) I’ve been bullied, safe to say though, I’m homeschooled now. The way it affects your mind and mental outset is greatly portrayed in this book. I loved her writing and the different POV’s. I didn’t think they were hard to follow or confusing, they just added many depths to the story.

Dear August Pullman, You’re awesome, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Me
I found a August a little annoying and whiny at first but I started to warm up to him a bit later. He seemed like he had no ability to think positively even when things were going well. That’s quite annoying.
Dear everyone, being a pessimist, is so not awesome. Me. Yes positive thinking is great.

My fave quote:

“The best way to measure how much you’ve grown isn’t by inches or the number of laps you can now run around the track, or even your grade point average– though those things are important, to be sure. It’s what you’ve done with your time, how you’ve chosen to spend your days, and whom you’ve touched this year. That, to me, is the greatest measure of success.”

I give this book 5 stars.

Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “Wonder by R.J Palacio

  1. I just finished listening to this audiobook the other day. I thought August was rather whiny at first but I ended up liking him in the end.
    SPOILER if you haven’t read it: How did you feel about the ending though? I thought it was a little too pretty and clean. Everyone ends up liking him, he wins that award, etc. It kind of annoyed me because the rest of the book was so poignant and authentic in how it dealt with bullying, but that’s not how life works. It doesn’t wrap up neatly with a bow. Do you know what I mean?

Tell me what you think!

