Paper Towns by John Green


image

Hey, crazy BookNerd’s. Yeah we roll like that. Hey hey hey hey hey hey. *sung to the tune of Gangnam Style* So what’s up, what have you been reading lately? Let me know.

So about 3 months ago, I bought Paper Towns from Asda along with Wonder by R.J Palacio and the movie tie in edition of TFIOS. I love it, they were all 3 for 10 pounds, plus my copy of TFIOS has Ansel Elgort on the cover, isn’t he just gorgeous? Anyway, I sped through it, devouring pages like they were MacDonald’s Big Macs and Strawberry Milkshakes, which I’d you didn’t know are really bad for you, how could anything that tastes that amazing be so bad for me? Its one of life’s big questions. By the end I decided that John Green should be writing King and that ultimately I liked Paper Towns more than TFIOS.

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life — dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge — he follows.

After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues — and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees of the girl he thought he knew.

Why hello there, John Green, you’re awesomely awesome and I’m proud to be a Nerdfighter. The things you write possess me with a very odd kind of evangelical zeal, one that I only really experience at 4am in the morning. It makes me want to go to Asia and save pandas or start a worldwide epidemic to cure teen depression (even though I know I can’t :'() .

Your writing is so beautiful, lyrical, laced together, delicately drawing my eyes down the page. However there was one character that I didn’t like; Margo Roth Spigelman. Why are you annoying? Why don’t you care? Why can’t you appreciate the lengths Quentin went to find you? She ticked me off. She also didn’t seem as real as the other character, like Ben or Lexie.  I know everyone has their quirks but hers made her seem really weird, like those people who like toenails or scratchy jumpers with pictures of cats on. I deeply resonated with Quentin and felt connected. *High Five*

Thought:
Does what we do with our lives really affect other peoples lives?

Yes, well at least I think it does. By Margo running away, it affected Quentin. Nobody else seemed to care after a few days but Quentin was so deeply disturbed by her disappearance that he looked for her day and night. Our actions affect other people and we should rember that before we do things. You might think. “Nobody loves me, I should run away, nobody will care.” What about those people searching for you desperately?

Lesson Learned:

It is easy to get lost in this world, to feel we’ve lost our way but there’ll always be at least one person looking for you and not stopping until they do. You might even be surprised by who that person is.

My fave quote:

“When did we see each other face-to-face? Not until you saw into my cracks and I saw into yours. Before that, we were just looking at ideas of each other, like looking at your window shade but never seeing inside. But once the vessel cracks, the light can get in. The light can get out.”

I rate this book 4.97 stars just beacause of Margo.

Thanks for reading!

9 thoughts on “Paper Towns by John Green

  1. I’m not a big Green fan, nor do his books always agree with me, but this has been one that I’ve had a mind to read for a long time now. Great review 🙂

  2. Pingback: Wonder by R.J Palacio | The Sleepy Book Nerd

Tell me what you think!

