The Selection by Kiera Cass


image

Hi…
Everybody…
How…
Are…
You?…
So a couple of weeks ago I picked up a copy of The Selection from my ever boring Library. I’d heard of it before but I’ve never dared to read because of it’s mixed reviews. I finished it in a matter of days, however one thing was still imprinted on my brain and I couldn’t decide. Aspen or Maxon?

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Ooh! That sounds amazingly interesting. I’m just assuming you thought that by the way. Well it is but I think that the author wasn’t very descriptive. I think maybe her book was published for the plot alone because there was yabsolutley nothing in the way off any description. However she continues to captivate me because I was very deeply invested in the plot. Perhaps I didn’t like the love triangle but I’m glad she made the love interest realistic, except for the fact that one’s a prince. This world isn’t like Disney, ya feel me? There aren’t many princes around… Anyway. You shouldn’t wait for a prince, the poor guy’s probably stuck in a tree somewhere. I’m angry about something though. IT’S NOT A DYSTOPIAN! It might be set in a rather dystopian world but its in no way related to the story line, please, stop calling it a dystopian.

A debate: Aspen Or Maxon?
I will present a paragraph for each of them.

Arguments:

Aspen:
He’s always been there for America. It was her first love, the one she planned to marry. He looked out for her and worried that he couldn’t provide for her. Not to mention he’s extremely handsome. And such a family guy, he provides for his six brothers and sisters back home, he’s the father figure.

Maxon:
Hello? This guy’s a prince, an extremely handsome one at that. He’s witty and cocky and charming but he’s also humble, caring and protective. He loves all the girls equally, worried when one of them is missing during a rebel attack. He worries about world affairs even though he can barely look after himself.

Conclusion:
I don’t know… Tell me your opinion in the COMMENTS 👇👇

So, its a really good book but the amount of description let it down.
I rate it 4.05 stars.

My fave quote:

“Maxon lowered his lips to mine and gave me the faintest whisper of a kiss.

Something about the tentativeness of it made me feel beautiful. Without a word, I could understand how excited he was to have this moment, but then afraid at the same time. And deeper than any of that, I sensed that he adored me.

So this is what it felt like to be a lady.”

Thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “The Selection by Kiera Cass

Tell me what you think!

