Better than Perfect by Simone Elkeles


image

Hey everybody, I’m back again! With my fist review for an ARC. Thanks to Bloomsbury Publishing for giving it to me.

This book was originally called Wild Cards by Simone Elkeles so the content is the same its just published under a different name. I sped through this book in about a day, it was won of those summer reads that I have vowed to read more of this summer. (Because you can’t read SciFi when its hot.)

Book summary:

After getting kicked out of boarding school, bad boy Derek Fitzpatrick has no choice but to live with his ditzy stepmother while his military dad is deployed. Things quickly go from bad to worse when he finds out she plans to move them back to her childhood home in Illinois. Derek’s counting the days before he can be on his own, and the last thing he needs is to get involved with someone else’s family drama.

Ashtyn Parker knows one thing for certain–people you care about leave without a backward glance. A football scholarship would finally give her the chance to leave. So she pours everything into winning a state championship, until her boyfriend and star quarterback betrays them all by joining their rival team. Ashtyn needs a new game plan, but it requires trusting Derek—someone she barely knows, someone born to break the rules. Is she willing to put her heart on the line to try and win it all?

Book review:

I really like this book, it was a light, easy read. One that I’d suggest you read in the sun or by the pool or at the beach. Its just one of those summer reads.

The writing was easy and enjoyable. Not too fast not to slow and I felt the POV’s from both Derek and Ashtyn showed different perspectives that brought the book to life. The characters were relatable and imaginable which is good because a character that you can’t envisage doesn’t help the story in any way, it just makes it unbelievable.

The synopsis was telling us some little white lies when it said Derek is a bad boy, apart from the stunt with the pigs he does nothing else but get into a fight and do voluntary work in the garden. I also thought it was about football yet not one football match took place in the whole book.

Another thing that annoyed me was the names. I’m fine with unique names but these weren’t unique names, it was unique spellings that’s what annoyed me. Ashtyn and Monika? I don’t think every character has to have a weird way of spelling common names.

I loved the clichés, I know I shouldn’t but they make me smile. Whenever he calls her Sugar Pie I just beam, its cute. I love it when he annoys her just to get on her nerves, they way they fight. About skittles, about Landon, about Julian. I love it.

I loved some of the characters. Julian was adorable. And Mrs Worthington, she’s so arrogant and annoying but she is kind at the end of it. I love the guys on the team, Victor and Trey, they’re awesome. I love how they look after Ashtyn and support the choices she makes.

Some of my favourite scenes:

I love the scene when they’re in the tent. I thought it was really cute when she woke up cold and she asked Derek to hold her it was so cute.

The ending I loved it but I don’t want to spoil it so you’ll just have to read it yourself.

Some of my favourite quotes:

“I never believed in love at first sight, until I met Derek. It’s all-consuming and delicious and wonderful and exciting. At the same time, it makes me nervous and self-conscious and emotional. Love exists. I know it does, because I’m madly, deeply, hopelessly in love.” 

“Julian, sometimes girls are like junk food. They look good, and they sure taste good… but you know they’re not healthy for you and cause cavities so it’s better to just leave ’em alone. Got me?” 

“Because I’m tryin’ to push you away when all I want to do is hold you. I know you say you don’t want a hero, but damn I’d like to be that guy who’ll save you from spiders and whatever and whoever else hurts you.” 

I give this book 4.75 stars. I recommend it to everybody, go pick it up in stores when it comes out on August 14th. Once again many thanks for sending me the review copy, I enjoyed it and look forward to receiving more review copies.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Better than Perfect by Simone Elkeles

Tell me what you think!

