It was all pointless… The 100 by Kass Morgan


It really was pointless, what an almost absolute waste (Some of it was interesting…). I had seen a TV spot for The 100 and that “Wow, that looks really interesting.” When “Based on the book” flashes across the screen I squeal. I love books. So within the next 10 minutes I had ordered it from the library and was dying to get my hands on a copy.  However, the next day, after an author meet and greet talk (I met Roopa Farooki) I saw it on the library shelf whilst waiting to be picked up. I brought it to the counter only to find I’d left my card, after hassling the librarian to put it on my card from the computer and let me leave, she handed me the copy and sat down in a chair. I put it in my bag to resist the urges to read it in a noisy place and miss good dialogue. I get home and open it up, lapping up words, places and people. I waited for something good to happen, even remotely interesting but it didn’t.

In the future, humans live in city-like spaceships orbiting far above Earth’s toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland… before it’s too late.

Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they’ve only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they’re haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust – and even love – again.

 

The only POV that was interesting was Glass’. Nothing happened to anybody else, when I say that I mean it. The writing was strong, the characters even more so, the writing flopped, the plot flopped. If you really want to try, read it. It is interesting in the parts where you find what happened to them before they were sent down to Earth.

My Fave Quote:

“Everyone was pointing upward at the sky, which was turning into a symphony of color. First, orange streaks appeared in the blue, like an oboe joining a flute, turning a solo into a duet. That harmony built into a crescendo of colors as yellow and then pink added their voices to the chorus. The sky darkened, throwing the array of colors into even sharper relief. The word sunset couldn’t possibly contain the meaning of the beauty above them, and for the millionth time since they’d landed, Wells found that the words they’d been taught to describe Earth paled in comparison to the real thing.”

Thank you for reading!

2 thoughts on “It was all pointless… The 100 by Kass Morgan

Tell me what you think!

