Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen


Hello again. Sorry I haven’t posted a lot, I’ve been on holiday!
We went to Hastings and the heat was immense plus I didn’t have Wi-Fi.

image

Orphaned, penniless, Jacob Jankowski jumps a freight train in the dark, and in that instant, transforms his future.
By morning, he’s landed a job with the Flying Squadron of the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show on Earth. By nightfall, he’s in love.

In an America made colourless by prohibition and the Depression, the circus is a refuge of sequins and sensuality. But behind the glamour lies a darker world, where both animals and men are dispensable. Where falling in love is the most dangerous act of all…

I loved Water for Elephants, it was the third book of my read-a-thon. I adored Jacob’s and Marlena’s relationship. I hated August, his paranoid schizophrenia ruined everything. His animal cruelty, his paranoia over Marlena and his hatred toward Jacob, he is just such a dislikeable person. Marlena’s talent with the show horses, her undying love for all the animals. This book just makes me melt.

Sara Gruens writing is great. I love the pictures of the Circus, it shows all the animals and all the performers. Her writing flows, the switches between past and present are easy to follow. The story is great, a little weak in places but its the overall package that counts. I highly recommend this book, I suggest you read it. 😘😘

Tell me what you think!

