The boy a few tables away from me by The Sleepy BookNerd


This is a short story I wrote today. Hope you like it, tell me what you think in the comments.

The boy a few tables away from me.

I walk along the little cobbled paths on my way to the library. As I walk up to the door, I smooth my hair down and check my clothes; maybe that boy will be there today. The one with the scruffy ash blonde hair and the freckles. I stride into the library trying to look confident, although I probably look clumsy. I smile at the new younger librarian, “Hello, Melissa” I chirp.
“Hello, Eliza. I have put your books that you ordered aside for you” She says and lifts a pile of books up from her desk. There must be about 10 books, piled up so high that I can’t see Melissa. I thank her and move my books over to the table at the back of the library. I’m accustomed to my little reading nook now. Tucked at the back in the corner, I have brought my own cushions and things from my bedroom. Nobody really cares that it’s my things they just keep to themselves. I open up my copy of The Book Thief to see a little note addressed to me. I look around to see if it may just be a joke put there by someone else but nobody is around. I begin to read the note:

To the girl at the table near the back of the library –

I almost asked you what was wrong the first time I saw you crying. Then I saw the book you were reading, and realized that you were crying because of it. And I was interested, because I’d never read anything that moved me that much.

I checked out the book you were reading, and guess what? I cried – just a little – too. That’s how it started. Every time I go to the library, you’re almost always there, usually with a completely new book. Sometimes you smile, or laugh out loud, or cry again, and when you do, I check out the book you’re reading.

That was it, really, until I realized how gorgeous you are. You’re not pretty in the normal kind of way, but goodness, when you smile, it lights up your face in the best way.

I wish you’d notice me, sitting a few tables away from you, reading the book you were reading a few days ago. I wish you’d smile at me. I don’t have the guts to talk to you. I’m afraid you won’t be anything at all like I imagine.

One of these days, I’ll work up the courage and I’ll ask you about what you’re reading. And maybe you’ll smile that gorgeous smile and tell me all about it, and then we’ll talk about all the books we’ve read. But until then, thank you for the book recommendations. I love them.

Love, the boy a few tables away from yours.

I scan the room just as the boy with freckles walks in. He sees me with the note in my hand and walks briskly towards the librarian. There is a little Waterstones bag swinging at his side. Suddenly Melissa points at me and the boy walks towards me. He slumps into the chair and we are silent for a while. He slides the Waterstones bag towards me. I touch it gingerly and he nods. I open the bag to find an edition of Pride and Prejudice with a beautiful cover. I stroke it, “Thank you! It’s beautiful” I jump forward and hug him. His cheeks glow a rosy red and he replies “You’re Welcome” His voice was surprisingly gruff. “I’m Eliza…” I say quietly.
“I’m Dawson, nice to meet you” We shake hands and sit down quietly. We start to read our books. After I while I work up the courage to ask him if he wrote the note. “I did, did you like it?” He inquires.
“Yes, very much. I also checked out books you have read. His did you know I liked Pride and Prejudice?
“Your name is Eliza so I went out on a whim” he says.
I look at my watch and see that it was time I got home. “I have to go! Same time tommorow?” I ask lightly.
“Of course. See you around Eliza.”
“You too, Dawson” I say and pick up my books and stride out the door.

7 thoughts on “The boy a few tables away from me by The Sleepy BookNerd

  1. I WANT MORE! XD Okay, I totally imagined an Augustus Waters there for a moment, but this guy is has some really smooth moves. Ha ha! I loved it! Bravo! 5 Sparrowhawks for you! 🙂

  2. Love! Such a wonderful story! I wish it was longer 😛 I think it’s great how you show in different ways that the two characters are to nervous to talk to each other. Really well done!

Tell me what you think!

