The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne


(Just a warning: There may be minor spoilers, if you’re fine with that read on, if not you’ve been warned.)

Hello Hello!

This was a present from my friend and I had really wanted to read it for a long time so I put all other reading aside and made room for this. I’m glad I did…

When Bruno returns home from school one day, he discovers that his belongings are being packed in crates. His father has received a promotion and the family must move from their home to a new house far far away, where there is no one to play with and nothing to do. A tall fence running alongside stretches as far as the eye can see and cuts him off from the strange people he can see in the distance.

But Bruno longs to be an explorer and decides that there must be more to this desolate new place than meets the eye. While exploring his new environment, he meets another boy whose life and circumstances are very different to his own, and their meeting results in a friendship that has devastating consequences.

Such a beautifully crafted book, yet I wished it was sadder. Not too sad that I’m choking on my own tears but sad enough that I have a few tears. Maybe it was just that somebody had spoiled it for me and that was why my bookish vision was clouded. I loved Bruno, so stubborn, lively and unaware of what was going on on the “Farm” on the back of his house. I also loved Shmuel, also a little blissfully unaware of what was happening and what his life would lead to. I only realized that the name Out-With (The “Farm’s” name) actually meant Auschwitz as in Auschwitz concentration camp. The fact that Bruno didn’t know his father was in charge of the concentration camp. And that the “Fury”(Hitler and his wife Eva) who had been in their house was running this monstrosity of the killing hundreds of thousands of people.

This was a great book and everyone should read, a glimpse from the German side of things.

My fave quote:

“What exactly was the difference? he wondered to himself. And who decided which people wore the striped pajamas and which people wore the uniforms?”

Thank you for reading! Hope you like the book too.

7 thoughts on “The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

  1. I read this book too but in dutch, since I am Dutch and my mom had this book on her bookshelf. Normally I am in favor of reading the originals instead of the translations that’s why I still want to read it in English and also because I think in English it will be much better. I really really loved the story, I thought it was sad but I didn’t shed a tear though.

  2. Pingback: The Sleepy Read-a-thon Wrap-up | The Sleepy BookNerd

Tell me what you think!

