Insignia by S.J.Kincaid


11115434

Hello, hello!

I read this last week and was yet to do a review. I’m literally swimming in un-reviewed books, if I go on with this I will drown. This book has been sitting on my bookshelf for three or four months only because I’ve been ordering so many books from the library… I really need to stop myself. *facepalm* for ordering so many.

The earth is in the middle of WWIII in Insignia, the first entry in S. J. Kincaid’s fast-paced sci-fi adventure trilogy perfect for fans of Ender’s Game.

The planet’s natural resources are almost gone, and war is being fought to control the assets of the solar system. The enemy is winning. The salvation may be Tom Raines. Tom doesn’t seem like a hero. He’s a short fourteen-year-old with bad skin. But he has the virtual-reality gaming skills that make him a phenom behind the controls of the battle drones.

As a new member of the Intrasolar Forces, Tom’s life completely changes. Suddenly, he’s someone important. He has new opportunities, friends, and a shot at having a girlfriend. But there’s a price to pay. . .

Oh my goodness! I was in Sci-fi heaven even though it was remarkably similar to Ender’s Game it was great. I loved the concepts an ideas of this book, after you have a computer implanted in your brain you can do anything. In the book the computer can simulate food, at the school they give you nutrient bars which you’re computer could turn into anything you want. Doughnuts… bacon… candyfloss… You name it that’s what it will be. I also liked that the author made her writing flow easy so that you didn’t find it hard to read and are hooked. This is a trilogy but I think it was a great stand alone novel with no cliffhangers. I don’t really feel like reading the second book right now maybe later, I have a read-a-thon to catch up on.

My fave quote:

“What’s being crazy like?” Wyatt blurted.

“That depends, Enslow. What’s being tactless and completely inappropriate like?”

Thanks for reading.

Tell me what you think!

