12 Years A Slave by Solomon Northup


imageimage

 

Hey all you loyally devoted BookNerds. I was meaning to read this for ages, poor little book just sitting on my bookshelf unread. When I actually did start reading it, I accidentally ripped the spine *screams* The horror of it! I really didn’t mean too, when I saw it I completely flipped out. I was so upset, I hate it when I ruin my books. Now its damaged, the poor old thing, he still had his whole life ahead of him.

This unforgettable memoir was the basis for the Academy Award-winning film 12 Years a Slave. This is the true story of Solomon Northup, who was born and raised as a freeman in New York. He lived the American dream, with a house and a loving family – a wife and two kids. Then one day he was drugged, kidnapped, and sold into slavery in the deep south. These are the true accounts of his twelve hard years as a slave – many believe this memoir is even more graphic and disturbing than the film. His extraordinary journey proves the resiliency of hope and the human spirit despite the most grueling and formidable of circumstances.

I really loved this book. Everyone should read it, to see what it was really like for slaves, what they went through and what they achieved. It took me a while to get into this book, considering it was written in the 1800’s, I wasn’t quite used to the writing style. However once I was in the zone, I was in the zone. It was a beautiful, captivating book.

My Fave Quote:
“I ask no paradise on high, With cares on earth oppressed,
The only heaven for which I sigh, Is rest, eternal rest.”

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “12 Years A Slave by Solomon Northup

Tell me what you think!

