The Invention of Hugo Cabaret by Brian Selznick


image

Hey’all, finally caught up on my sleep. I read TIOHC in about 2 nights. Because of the many drawings it was easy to get through but still a beautiful story. The drawings were amazing and the writing so well done. Could not thank Selznick for a more beautiful job.

Half sketches create a story in pictures too, relevant history. Real last-century French pioneer filmmaker Georges Méliès collected mechanical robot-like automata, and, impoverished, worked at a toy booth in a Paris railway station. Here, orphan Hugo fixes his late father’s automata, and meets Méliès through his god-daughter Isabelle.

I really like this book, it was so easy on the eyes. I loved the fact that you could probably read it in one sitting but I didn’t have the patience for it that day. I loved that he mixed nonfiction with fiction, that some aspects of the story were real and some weren’t. I had seen the movie before *facepalm* (Shame on me I know!) But I didn’t actually know it was a book until I saw it on a Booktubers bookshelf. But I’m glad I picked it up, I recommend everyone should read it and know the invention of wonderful, quirky Hugo Cabret.

My fave quote:
“I like to imagine that the world is one big machine. You know, machines never have any extra parts. They have the exact number and type of parts they need. So I figure if the entire world is a big machine, I have to be here for some reason. And that means you have to be here for some reason, too.”

Thank you for reading!
Just remember you are B E A Utiful!

Tell me what you think!

