The Maze Runner by James Dashner


image

Hey all! I’m so tired… I’m sorry this has taken me a long time to write. It was such a great book and I’ve been meaning to order it from my library for ages but watching the trailer just pushed me over the edge. I mean what an amazing trailer, the suspense, the action… It just gives me the fangirl heebijeebies! So I forced myself to put off starting a relationship with any other book and you know, get to know The Maze Runner a lil better. I must say we really hit it off, we spent endless nights talking together, when I had nightmares over him he was always there to comfort me (Those damn Grievers were just so creepy.)

“If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.”

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers–boys whose memories are also gone.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out–and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

First of all, the book started off really slowly, which really annoyed me. After the first 150 pages there was still no answers relevant to the story line. I guess it was really just character development, I mean there were so many people to keep track of that I didn’t know who was speaking most of the time. I may have developed a little fangirl crush on Newt, quintessential British guy, with a bad leg. (What is it with 17 year olds and bad legs. Peeta and Augustus Waters copycat?) It did suddenly get very interesting, it is kind of like a mystery, trying to figure out who did what. Perhaps by the end of the story I was a little lost about what was going on but I can’t wait for The Scorch Trials. Over all an awesome, highly suspenseful read.
I highly recommend it.

My fave quote:
“Shouldn’t someone give a pep talk or something?” Minho asked, pulling Thomas’s attention away from Alby.

“Go ahead” Newt replied.

Minho nodded and faced the crowd. “Be careful,” he said dryly.
“Don’t die.”

“Great. We’re all bloody inspired.” Newt said.”

Thanks for reading fellow BookNerds
And may the odds be ever in your favour.

8 thoughts on “The Maze Runner by James Dashner

  1. I JUST finished the book today, and you pretty much summed up my thoughts! *high five for a great review*
    The suspense was killing, though I didn’t like James Dashner’s writing style at all.
    I believe female writers are better than male ones πŸ˜€ Except Rick Riordan of course.

      • Oh my god! Right, how could I forget John Green?
        Something is happening to my fangirl memory or I am not feeling alright πŸ˜€ Yes, ofcourse I’ve read it, and cried buckets afterwards as well 😦
        I even wrote a whole post on five authors I’d really like to meet! You can probably dig it up on my blog.
        Okay, so correcting my statement, I generally don’t like male writers apart from a few *special* ones.

      • Actually, now I come to think of it, their are a lot of awesome guy writers as well. Like Lemony Snicket, Eoin Colfer, Micheal Buckley and the list goes on….and on πŸ˜€ Have you read Paper Towns by John Green? And an Abundance of Katherines?

      • Really?…Mine was Minho πŸ˜€ Though I can’t really see how these kids are geniuses O.o
        Yes, it was awesome! The great end made up for the so-so start.

Tell me what you think!

