A random non-bookish related thought….


image

Hi, something’s been really bothering me today, well it has been bothering me for ages but today I want to let you know.

Girls; Remember those days when you look at the mirror and you stare into it and all you see is ugliness. Remember when you walk past those girls on the street with perfect makeup, hair and clothes, and you hate the way you look?
I really want you to stop, countless times have I looked at myself and felt ugly, wanted to change myself, be like those pretty girls. But I have come to the realisation that I am who I am, I’m beautiful, quirky, weird all at once. Something scared me today, on the news there was a presentation about body image and what it does to us. It said that 3/6 girls (age 11 to 17) have considered plastic surgery. How scary is that?
It doesn’t matter what you look like, if your larger than other girls, skinnier than other girls, if you have a thigh gap, or gappy teeth, you are all beautiful. I’m a rather large teenager, I’m really not the skinniest person, I’m a size 16!! *facepalm* Shocking I know. There used to be times when I wished I was skinny, that I could fit into that beautiful dress at New Look (where you can’t get clothes normally over size 16.). Countless times I have cried in those dressing rooms… But I look at girls today and think if we were all the same the world would be boring. Now today, there are great outlets to show how beautiful you are: Tumblr, you get to show your interests to other people. Please girls don’t change yourself, there are many people out there who will love the way you are. Cause you’re amazing just the way you are… That was a Bruno Mars song cue! What about when you find that one special person? How can they love you for you, if you are constantly determined to be like someone else. I just want to tell the world its okay to be different, you don’t have to look or be like anyone else. We are all amazing, we are all quirky little Wallflowers.

So tell me how you feel about this subject! COMMENT, COMMENT, COMMENT!!
Thank you for reading! ☺

10 thoughts on “A random non-bookish related thought….

  1. I found this so inspiring. For a long time I had the same aspirations. This “perfect” me. It took me a long time to realize that I don’t need people to tell me I’m pretty. I don’t need to change. I accepted myself. And the funny thing was that once I did, it seemed that so did the world.

Tell me what you think!

