The Book Thief movie/book review!


Wow! Yesterday I had the absolute wonderful joy of watching the movie adaptation of a book that should be hailed a modern classic, but it’s not…. This book is The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, a brilliant, thought provoking story from a side that we do not usually hear, the Gerfamily
It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.

Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meagre existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbours during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

I’m astonished this is one of the best book to movie adaptations I have ever seen! The way the movie is shot, the lighting, the scenery is absolutely beautiful. The acting is astonishing, Sophie Nelisse’s performance was so wonderfully done, she is the best Liesel Meminger there will ever be. Oh, when Rudy died I was in tears, when he was about to say “I love you!” And then he just went and died on us, I was balling my eyes out. None of my apparent family cried, I don’t think that they are actually my family. I also think Nico Liersch played an amazing Rudy, he’s so believable, however I was expecting Rudy to be tall, handsome, a bit of a smart ass, witty and an insane flirt but well Nico Liersch played the cute side of Rudy. This is how I imagined him to be:
The video up top is a video I made on my computer, If you like it COMMENT, COMMENT, COMMENT! Tell me what you think!

Thanks for reading fellow BookNerds
X

Tell me what you think!

