The Giver by Lois Lowry


image

Yellow again my awesome BookNerds. Today has been a momentous day and it’s only 10:30 in the morning. Today I have achieved something, not something great but it really is great for me. I have achieved 50 likes, 54 followers and 41 comments and it’s been 8 months since I started this blog! I have gained momentum and critique for my story and I’m ever thankful to those who have helped me make it better. Anyway… Onto my actual book review.

Now I had seen The Giver trailer and I thought “Well, that looks interesting, maybe I’ll go see it in cinema. But I’ll have to read the book first.” So I picked up the book from my local library and began reading. May I dare say it was one of the creepiest books I have ever read. Now this book was hailed as Modern Classic Children’s literature, but I’m a teenager and I will never pick that book up again. I’ve read the Hunger Games, Divergent and the Legend series, these books have a fair amount of violence in them, but it didn’t come close to the creepiness of this book. It’s rare that I ever do a negative book review, hell, I’ve never done a negative book review. That’s because I rarely pick up a book that I won’t like. But now I will not read the rest of the series or will I watch the Movie.

Jonas’ world is perfect. Everything is under control. There is no war or fear or pain. There are no choices. Every person is assigned a role in the Community. When Jonas turns twelve, he is singled out to receive special training from The Giver. The Giver alone holds the memories of the true pain and pleasure of life. Now, it is time for Jonas to receive the truth. There is no turning back.

The writing was good, character development was good, but I was so irked by the book that I can’t read the rest of the series. It was fast paced and a great quick read. I just really can’t wrap my head around it and I’m forever going to look at babies and old people in a normal way again. I really don’t recommend this book, but that’s just my matter of opinion.

My fave quote:
“The worst part of holding the memories is not the pain. It’s the loneliness of it. Memories need to be shared.”  – The Giver

Thank you for reading fellow BookNerds and may the odds be ever in your favour.

One thought on “The Giver by Lois Lowry

Tell me what you think!

