How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff


PhotoGrid_1396126963479PhotoGrid_1396127147871

 

Hello again my fellow BookNerds. Oh my, I have stumbled across a great gem of a book, yes I have. Whilst browsing my local vintage bookshop, I came across a book with a pretty cover. Yes I know I should not impulse buy books by the cover, but authors… this is what encourages us to buy a book. As i got out of the shop I dared look at the cover and found the synopsis as brilliant as I hoped it would be. So I got home sat myself in a comfy chair, a ham and lettuce sandwich and let myself fall into the book. Oh dare I say a debut novel could be so engaging and powerful, Meg Rosoff has completely captivated us with her first novel. When my sandwich was done, I stopped reading, pondered on it and then slept. I woke up at four the next morning eager to find out what would happen to Daisy and Piper and was not disapointed.

 

Fifteen-year-old Daisy is sent from Manhattan to England to visit her aunt and cousins sheโ€™s never met: three boys near her age, and their little sister. Her aunt goes away on business soon after Daisy arrives. The next day bombs go off as London is attacked and occupied by an unnamed enemy.

As power fails, and systems fail, the farm becomes more isolated. Despite the war, itโ€™s a kind of Eden, with no adults in charge and no rules, a place where Daisyโ€™s uncanny bond with her cousins grows into something rare and extraordinary. But the war is everywhere, and Daisy and her cousins must lead each other into a world that is unknown in the scariest, most elemental way.

 

This book was scarily electrifying and emotional and gripping. The story was greatly written but one thing that did annoy me was that the author Then’t use speech marks so I couldn’t tell if she was speaking or thinking because it was so confusing.

 

My fave quote:

I was dying, of course, but then we all are. Every day, in perfect increments, I was dying of loss.
The only help for my condition, then as now, is that I refused to let go of what I loved. I wrote everything down, at first in choppy fragments; a sentence here, a few words there, it was the most I could handle at the time. Later I wrote more, my grief muffled but not eased by the passage of time.
When I go back over my writing now I can barely read it. The happiness is the worst. Some days I can’t bring myself to remember. But I will not relinquish a single detail of the past. What remains of my life depends on what happened six years ago.
In my brain, in my limbs, in my dreams, it is still happening. – DAISY

 

Thank You for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

B E A Utiful- Bruce Almighty

2 thoughts on “How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff

Tell me what you think!

