The Book Thief by Markus Suzak


Hello again fellow BookNerds!

image

I had originally wanted to go see The Book Thief in cinemas but decided that I should read the book first. I got it really cheap actually, I found it at my local supermarket where they do two books for seven pounds or three pounds eighty five each. Supermarkets are great for cheap books even if you can’t get specific books there. I begged my dad to buy it for me and that I would work to pay it off, it also helped that I said I couldn’t go see the movie if I hadn’t read the book and that I was fifty third in line for a copy of the book at the library. I took it home, finished my other book I was reading (Because you can’t skip books!) And started right away. It took me a couple of nights to read it be because it was five hundred and fifty pages long. But right away I loved it, I can say I have never been a fan of historical fiction, the only one I can remember reading is Private Peaceful by Michael Murpurgo, but I absolutely fell in love with this book.

It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.

Liesel Meminger is a foster girl living outside of Munich, who scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement.

Okay… As I mourn this book in my own right state. I will proclaim to you what it is that I love about this book. Firstly, I have never cried so damn hard at a book, I curse that book for not letting me recover from it for at least 3 hours. I don’t think I can see the movie no without at least shouting in the middle of the movie “I know what’s going to a happen to all of these people!” And bursting out in tears again. I loved Liesel, she is so willing to learn to learn, unbeknownst to why Rudy wants to kiss her all the time (she realises that all that time she had fallen in love with him) and last of all she loves books. Maybe just as much as me seen as she is eager to steal them all the time 😤😤 I can’t seem to get over the fact about how well it was written, I mean its NARRATED by DEATH! Which means it’s third and first person. Where people can get all these ideas for books, when I can’t even write a short story, I really do not know. But by far it is one of the best books I’ve read this year.

My fave quote:
“The only thing worse than a boy who hates you: a boy that loves you.” – Liesel Meminger

Thank you for reading !
Nobody puts baby in a corner- Dirty Dancing

2 thoughts on “The Book Thief by Markus Suzak

  1. Love your review of this! I felt the exact same thing when I read it then watched the film just wanting to cry already knowing what was going to happen to the characters! And I cried multiple times throughout haha! Such a good book!

Tell me what you think!

