Divergent by Veronica Roth


Ahhh, finally down to Divergent, having just finished Allegiant. This was an ahmaZING book. So fast paced and brilliant, one of the best books (or should I say best series!) I have ever read.

In a society divided by five factions (a section of community that is based on one personality trait). Each faction represents a personality trait:

Abnegation: Selflessness
Candor: Honesty
Amity: Peace
Erudite: Intelligent
Dauntless: Bravery

Tris is sixteen, when you turn sixteen you must take an aptitude test to determine what you are. Tris’ results were inconclusive because she showed aptitude for three factions instead of just one. She is a Divergent. Divergent’s threaten the faction system. So she turns away from her former Abnegation faction and chooses Dauntless. Through rough training, pushing mental, physical and emotional boundaries, Tris makes friends but when she uncovers a plan that could kill her family she is torn between helping or staying on the down low. Could Tris save the factions or destroy them?

This really was an ahmaZING book. Tris is a much more relatable and believable female leader than Katniss Everdeen ever was (not a HG hater!) I completely fell in love with Dauntless instructor Tobias|Four. And adored Will, Christina and Al. But one of my fave characters throughout the whole series was Caleb, Tris’s brother. The writing style was so hooking, moving and fast paced. The plot twists were so extremely explosive that I read it in 2 days (that is a tad fast for me!) The characters were extremely loveable except for Peter, Molly and Drew (at the end of the series Peter was one of my fave’s though, I felt so sorry for him…) The ending just left me wanting more so I pulled out my copy of Insurgent and began reading straight away. May Veronica Roth continue to write Awesome books.

My Fave Quote
” We believe in ordinary acts of bravery in the courage that drives one person to stand up for another” – Dauntless Manifesto

Thank you for reading!
” And that’s the way the cookie crumbles!” – Bruce Almighty

 

Tell me what you think!

