The Fault In Our Stars by John Green


Sorry I Haven’t been on in such a long time, time slips by very fast, It doesn’t help that 89% of every day I want to go to bed. However I have had time to squeeze a few books in my schedule along with school work and chores. I have recently looked into YA book charts to pull out a few books and came across TFIOS, the Divergent series (Which will come along once I have finished Allegiant) and Ender’s Game (Also on it’s way).

It was an OK book it kept me hooked but I wasn’t balling my eyes out like other fandoms have claimed. It was sad but I thought the ending could have been a little different, it would have been better if her Van Houten had made a sequel together. Anyway….

Hazel Grace Lancaster was diagnosed with cancer  when she was Thirteen, she had fluid on her lungs and almost died but thanks to a life saving drug called Philanxifor the tumor shrunk and stayed that way. She is spiraling into clinical depression and her mother forces her to go to a support group in a church where it is stated that they are in the “Literal Heart Of Jesus” After weeks of the support group a new person shows up Augustus Waters who’s upfront and tells her she’s beautiful. He had Cancer in his leg and it had to be amputated. But has been in Remission  for a year and a half. They become friends and swap books and stuff. After both reading Hazel’s fave book An Imperial Affliction (sorry I may have spelt that wrong ) they contact the author in Amsterdam who says they can come visit them. So a Cancer company that fund trips for kids with cancer flies them both out to Amsterdam. They have a whirlwind trip but something goes wrong that will change Augustus’ and Hazel’s love forever. Can love survive?

This book was OK as I have said there was a plot twist so sad I felt sick but I feel it could have ended differently, but it was a good book, it seemed a bit slow to begin with but soon sped up. Hazel and Gus were by far one of my favorite couples in book by a long way (They got nothing on FourTris though)

My Fave Quote:

Whilst in the Anne Frank house looking at the list of Jews from the Concentration Camp.

Hazel: The book was turned to the page with Anne Franks name, but what got me about it was the fact that right beneath her name there were four Aron Franks. Four. Four Aron Franks without museums, without historical markers, without anyone to mourn them. I silently resolved to pray for those four Aron Franks as long as I was around.

 

Tell me what you think!

